Did You See Melody? by Sophie Hannah

I review Did You See Melody? by Sophie Hannah. Pushed to the breaking point, Cara Burrows abandons her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied - by a man [...]

Rupture by Ragnar Jónasson

I review Rupture by Ragnar Jónasson, book 4 in the Dark Iceland series. 1955. Two young couples move to the uninhabited, isolated fjord of Hedinsfjörður. Their stay ends abruptly when one of the women meets her death in mysterious circumstances. The case is never solved. Fifty years later an old photograph comes to light, and it [...]

Dead Down East by Carl Schmidt

James McStravick reviews Dead Down East by Carl Schmidt Jesse Thorpe, a young private investigator operating out of Augusta, Maine, narrates the tale. Jesse’s vacation on Great Pond is cut short when he receives a mysterious phone call from a former client, Cynthia Dumais. She begs to be rescued from an island south of Brunswick, within a [...]

Giveaway: The Madam by Jaime Raven

Fancy a copy of Jaime Ryan's latest novel, The Madam? Read on to find out how! Murder, loyalty, and vengeance collide in a gritty read perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers. ‘Orange is the New Black meets a twisted Southampton’ Molly, Amazon reviewer ‘If you like a crime novel with a strong [...]

Blackout by Ragnar Jónasson

I review Blackout, the third book in the Dark Iceland series by Ragnar Jónasson. Many thanks to Orenda Books for providing a review copy! On the shores of a tranquil fjord in Northern Iceland, a man is brutally beaten to death on a bright summer’s night. As the 24-hour light of the arctic summer is [...]

Unconscious Knowledge by Beaird Glover

I review Unconscious Knowledge by Beaird Glover. Growing up poor and within a troubled family, Marcy Harris takes a job at a hospital cafeteria, and the monotony is killing her. Then, on Christmas Day, she meets Syd McComb, a jet-cool punk rocker recently returned from a ten-year stay in Mexico, and Syd looks like all [...]

Snowblind by Ragnar Jónasson

Chris Douglas, a member of our talented new team, reviews Snowblind by Ragnar Jónasson. Chris Douglas is a storyteller, word weaver, and new book reviewer for The Bandwagon. He enjoys writing, from novels to scripts, as a way to understand why “they did that” – secretly he’s just nosy. He is often found with a notepad [...]