Cornish Reading Challenge: The Thief’s Daughter by Victoria Cornwall

This year, I've chosen The Thief's Daughter by Victoria Cornwall as one of my Cornish Reading Challenge reads! Hide from the thief-taker, for if he finds you, he will take you away … Eighteenth-century Cornwall is crippled by debt and poverty, while the gibbet casts a shadow of fear over the land. Yet, when night falls, [...]

Cornish Reading Challenge: Terri Nixon reviews Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier

Author Terri Nixon reviews Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier for the Cornish Reading Challenge! I first read this book as a mid-teen, but although I’ve always known I’d enjoyed it, my memory did not do justice to the beauty of this book, and I realised that when I came to re-read it again recently. It’s [...]

Cornish Reading Challenge: Under A Cornish Sky by Liz Fenwick

My first choice for the third annual Cornish Reading Challenge is none other than Liz Fenwick's Under A Cornish Sky. For fans of Judy Finegan and Rosamunde Pilcher, a spelling-binding tale of romance and intrigue, set against the gorgeous Cornish coast. Demi desperately needs her luck to change. On the sleeper train down to Cornwall, [...]

Did You See Melody? by Sophie Hannah

I review Did You See Melody? by Sophie Hannah. Pushed to the breaking point, Cara Burrows abandons her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied - by a man [...]

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

"Lizzie Borden took an axe And gave her mother forty whacks When she saw what she had done She gave her father forty-one." I'd never heard of Lizzie Borden before I read about this book. The topic instantly grabbed me, and I knew I had to have it. I was crossing my fingers every time [...]

The Wish by Bill Griffin

I review The Wish: The 99 Things We Think We Want Most by Bill Griffin. Just over 1,000 days ago, Bill Griffin launched Crowdwish, a website and app with a single proposition - it simply asked people what three things they thought they wanted most. Wishes poured in from all over the world, with the site [...]

The Burning Girl by Claire Messud

I review The Burning Girl by Claire Messud. Julia and Cassie have been friends since nursery school. They have shared everything, including their desire to escape the stifling limitations of their birthplace, the quiet town of Royston, Massachusetts. But as the two girls enter adolescence, their paths diverge and Cassie sets out on a journey that [...]

Ignite by Danielle Rogland

I review Ignite by Danielle Rogland. In the ruins of dystopian London, the Empire rules through fear and fire. “Everyone knew about ‘The Flames’ and how much trouble they had caused the Empire. They were the only rebel group anyone knew of that had lasted longer than a few months without getting caught, leaving candles [...]

Blood Upon The Sand by Bradley P. Beaulieu

James McStravick reviews Blood Upon The Sand by Bradley P. Beaulieu. Çeda, now a Blade Maiden in service to the kings of Sharakhai, trains as one of their elite warriors, gleaning secrets even as they send her on covert missions to further their rule. She knows the dark history of the asirim—that hundreds of years [...]

Naondel by Maria Turtschaninoff

I review Naondel by Maria Turtschaninoff. A priestess, a warrior, an aristocrat, a servant, a witch, a fisherman's daughter and a slave destined for human sacrifice: seven very different women united by one common bond- they are all prisoners of the handsome, cruel Iskan, and they all want to escape. But in order to do [...]