Cornish Reading Challenge: Annalisa Crawford crosses the Tamar Bridge

There are two bridges across the River Tamar – for trains, the Royal Albert Bridge (known locally as the Brunel Bridge), and for vehicles, the Tamar Bridge. Before the Tamar Bridge was built in 1962, a ferry connected the two sides of the river.

dav

After moving to Saltash when I was 11, I’d only walked across the bridge three times – each time, holding tightly onto whoever I was walking with. I was/am scared of heights. However, as an adult, my buses to work were becoming more unreliable, and one day I made the decision to walk the bridge to catch a choice of services on the Plymouth side.

At the time, the cantilevers – one on each side, to provide a fourth traffic lane, and a dedicated pedestrian/cycle path – were new. And every time a heavy lorry drove past, the cantilever bounced. It was a horrible feeling, and took me months to get used to it.

dig

Gradually, I grew to love my daily jaunt, the freshness of the river helped to wake me up. In the middle of the winter, I’d occasionally witness glorious sunrises; and during the height of summer, it was a relaxing start to the working day, the river beneath deep blue, speckled with white sailing boats

The river itself has its distinct personality – glassy winter clarity or hazy mid-summer glow, grey and churning during storms, dull and heavy when the weather is overcast.

dav

Walking across the bridge on windy days were a battle, with gusts predominantly from the south pushing me into the path of cyclists and other walkers – the day I chose a denim maxi skirt was particularly memorable and challenging. If the wind was paired with rain or hail, I’d be soaked and exhausted, but strangely exhilarated. Once I gave in to the fact that my hood was never going to stay in place, I’d walk with my arms open and a grin on my face, relishing the elements.

My favourite days were those of thick fog, where both Saltash and Plymouth disappeared, and the river was a mere suggestion beneath my feet. In the right conditions, the sun shone but the bridge was completely enveloped in low cloud, a river mist that can linger for most of the morning. Walking into it feels like entering a fairy tale, a surreal and beautiful start to the day.

Sadly, I no longer walk across the bridge – I got a new job on my side of the Tamar. But, sometimes, when the weather is right, I walk across just for the fun of it.

dig

My third book, Our Beautiful Child, was set around this area, although I omitted the two bridges across the water and borrowed some features from nearby towns. I don’t know why; sometimes I wish I hadn’t.

Author Bio

Annalisa Crawford lives in Cornwall, UK, with a good supply of moorland and beaches to keep her inspired. She lives with her husband, two sons, a dog and a cat. Annalisa writes dark contemporary, character-driven stories. She has been winning competitions and publishing short stories in small press journals for many years, and is the author of four books: Cat & The Dreamer, That Sadie Thing and other stories, Our Beautiful Child and You, I. Us. She won 3rd prize in the Costa Short Story Award, 2015. Find her on her website, Facebook and Twitter @annalisacrawf.

9 thoughts on “Cornish Reading Challenge: Annalisa Crawford crosses the Tamar Bridge

  1. Hi Vikki and Annalisa – going to Penzance all my life … we used the A30 in the early days before the bridge was built – and then could chose at Exeter – north or south … mostly we come south now. But I walked across the Humber Bridge and I must say it is daunting … so can quite believe what you tell us about reacting to the weather … it’s a stunning part of the world though. Lovely read through – cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes it is … I only got half way and that was far enough! Well the south was the obvious route – but we took the traffic into consideration and quite often I’d follow what is now a holiday route ( can’t say I’m enamoured, that ‘my route, is now a holiday signed one!!) from Tiverton to Okehampton and I’d be on the A30 … so the northerly route it was … avoiding the traffic, and having a lovely beautiful route through the lanes … now probably I’d do either – depending …. cheers and enjoy the weekend – it is now ‘raining’ squally showers here! Hilary

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

