Blood Upon The Sand by Bradley P. Beaulieu

James McStravick reviews Blood Upon The Sand by Bradley P. Beaulieu.

Çeda, now a Blade Maiden in service to the kings of Sharakhai, trains as one of their elite warriors, gleaning secrets even as they send her on covert missions to further their rule. She knows the dark history of the asirim—that hundreds of years ago they were enslaved to the kings against their will—but when she bonds with them as a Maiden, chaining them to her, she feels their pain as if her own. They hunger for release, they demand it, but with the power of the gods compelling them, they find the yokes around their necks unbreakable.

Çeda could become the champion they’ve been waiting for, but the need to tread carefully has never been greater. After the victory won by the Moonless Host in the Wandering King’s palace, the kings are hungry for blood. They scour the city, ruthless in their quest for revenge. Unrest spreads like a plague, a thing Emre and his new allies in the Moonless Host hope to exploit, but with the kings and their god-given powers, and the Maidens and their deadly ebon blades, there is little hope of doing so.

When Çeda and Emre are drawn into a plot of the blood mage, Hamzakiir, they sail across the desert to learn the truth, and a devastating secret is revealed, one that may very well shatter the power of the hated kings. They plot quickly to take advantage of it, but it may all be undone if Çeda cannot learn to navigate the shifting tides of power in Sharakhai and control the growing anger of the asirim that threatens to overwhelm her. 

Blood Upon The Sand

Blood Upon The Sand is the highly anticipated sequel of Twelve Kings in Sharakhai. When I read and reviewed Twelve Kings in Sharakhai, I thoroughly enjoyed it and sung its praises. If you want to read my review you can find it here.

Before I started reading Blood Upon The Sand I unfortunately found myself in a very heavy reading slump, but as soon as I started reading this I found my slump was almost instantaneous gone. But enough about me, lets get this review under way.

Blood Upon The Sand picks right where we left off at the end of Twelve Kings in Sharakhai and I found it so easy to get back into the world. Just as I was quickly drawn into the world when I read the first book, I found myself getting drawn back into the world again due to the beautiful and fascinating world Beaulieu has created.

Beaulieu has also taken the elements of what made the first book so good and emphasises and draws upon these strengths to a whole new level. One aspect I found that made the book a lot more in interesting is that we now not only learn more about Ceda, but also the other people that were secondary characters in the first book now have their own POV’s, and this only goes towards heightening the depth and feel of the world.

When it comes to second books in a series I usually find my interest in the series wanes slightly due to the amount of development that occurs, this can sometimes slow down the pace of the book due to the amount of detailed required to progress the book, or it doesn’t have the same pace you loved in the first. Blood Upon The Sand does this in no such way because from when I first picked this book up I quickly found myself becoming enthralled with the same world that I found in the first book, and even from the start the pace does not let up and I found this particularly stunning due to there being new POV’s being introduced.

If you have been reading my reviews for a while now you may have found that if I really enjoyed a book then I will quickly devour that book due to my intense enjoyment, but what really surprised me with Blood Upon The Sand was that I actually wanted to slow down my reading pace so I could absorb myself much more in the book than normal and this was something completely new for me.

In my opinion I believe Beaulieu has created one of the most intense, fascinating, and enjoyable worlds I have experienced over the last number of years, because for me it is a completely unique story and setting. He is fast becoming one of my favourite authors because his writing on seems to be getting stronger and stronger.

If you are a fan of fantasy books and haven’t yet read Twelve Kings in Sharakhai or Blood Upon The Sand then I highly recommend you rectify this because you are missing out on amazing book.

One thought on “Blood Upon The Sand by Bradley P. Beaulieu

Leave a Reply

