Ask The Author: Niki Meadows

Author Niki Meadows chats to The Bandwagon about her writing process. Niki has also chosen The Bandwagon to reveal the title of her new book!

about-the-author-vikkis-blog

1) What inspired you to start writing?

Well, I thought it was fun to keep a diary as a kid and journal as a teen that I kept up into adulthood. I tried my hand at short stories and fiction over the years but it never went anywhere. I’d get started and it would fizzle out. I loved to read fiction but I wasn’t very good at writing it. I just assumed writing wasn’t for me to share. I couldn’t let go of my love affair with writing and decided to try blogging. The first time around I didn’t know what I wanted out of my blog and set it to the side. The second time, I was able to better identify what my blog would be about and that felt like a more natural fit for me. I really enjoyed engaging with others and saw that my posts sharing my life in a way others could learn from and be encouraged felt right. I’d long abandoned the idea of writing a book until I was inspired to write something I’d never considered: non-fiction.

2) Tell us more about your book.

The book breaks down the process I used to conquer a 17-year battle with depression. At the time it was less of a “process” and more of me just doing whatever I could to climb out of the bottomless pit I’d been in for so long. I’ve been on this journey for four years and realized that looking back I was able to identify key steps I took consistently to overcome depression. I was Divinely inspired to write the book and saw signs of confirmation all around me encouraging me to go through with this book. The biggest encouragement was sharing the idea of the book to people I would meet just through natural conversation and them being so interested in wanting it to use for themselves. It got to the point I was so fueled by the possibility of helping someone that I couldn’t imagine not putting this out there. I ended up combining my personal experience with my life coaching skills to write the book in a way that challenges the reader in a positive way, sparks inspiration, and elicits action on behalf of the reader.

3) Why did you decide to self-publish?

I wrestled back and forth with this as many first-time authors do. In the end, it felt like a better route for many ways. I decided to start with an e-Book first because I knew I would stall the process longer than necessary getting caught up on unnecessary things had I gone the print route. Self-publishing felt more personal to me, I’m all about connection and this was a way to have the book really embody who I am and what my message is about. The final aspect came down to cost. I was able to do most of the process myself, which made the investment a matter of time not money. I was able to lean on my network from my inner circle to my blogging community for the things I wasn’t able to do on my own. This has been such an amazing experience that I’ll cherish and I’m so grateful for everyone that supported me along the way!

4) Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?

Stay true to who you are. In a world of information overload, it’s easy to be swayed and try avenues you think will lead to success because they worked for others. I think you have more of the answers than you think, and you should listen to your gut. I’m all about research and information but ultimately I pursue what feels right and encourage others to do the same. There is no right way, just the way that feels right to you.

5) What are you currently reading?

I’m actually reading a few different books at once. My grandpa always did that when I was growing up and I never understood how he could. I’m not able to do that with fiction because I typically stick to one genre and end up mixing the details up. Non-fiction makes it easier to do so. I’ve got Sacred Contracts (Caroline Myss), The Gift of Dyslexia (Ronald D. Davis), and Adventures of the Soul (James Van Praagh) on my Kindle app that I’m reading. In print, I’m reading Abundance Now (Lisa Nichols & Janet Switzer), The Gifts of Imperfection (Brene Brown), and The Book of Chakras (Ambika Wauters).

6) Who are your feminist heroines?

My mom is one of my biggest heroines. She’s done an amazing job of teaching me to be the person I am through her own example. Oprah is what I consider a student teacher of life, a giver, and an inspiration as a female entrepreneur and woman. Ellen DeGeneres is also on my list. Her transparency, courage, and kindness are traits I admire. Queen Rania of Jordan for the amazing job she does bringing social issues to the table. I also admire women to promote and encourage self-acceptance.

blog-title-image-1

Niki’s book, Wage War On Your Mind & Fight For Your Life, will be published in April. Make sure you grab a copy!

5 thoughts on “Ask The Author: Niki Meadows

Leave a Reply

