Not A Diet: Protein Smoothies Part 1

I’ve been working with personal trainer and inspiring woman Colette for a week now, and we’ve come to the conclusion that my diet needs changing up. It seems I have a severe lack of protein, so we were chatting about how to add more to my diet. A quick Google search came up with several protein shake recipes, and I spent some time choosing ones I thought I’d like.

So, to Amazon. I bought the Breville Blend Active personal blender, which comes with two blend-and-go bottles. These are awesome! You put all your ingredients in the bottle, screw on the part with the blades, turn it upside down and place in the unit. Then blend, remove, replace the blades with a sports cap, and off you go! Very little mess, so easy. 

I also got some measuring spoons that show the American cup system. If you’re getting a lot of recipes online, these spoons will be worth their weight in gold! As for protein powder, I went for PhD diet whey protein powder in vanilla. Colette also recommended some almond butter, which is like peanut butter but, well, almonds. I got the Meridian natural crunchy version

Thanks to Prime, it all turned up the next day, and I could get experimenting. I came up with a few recipes, tweaking some I found online to suit my tastes, and grabbed some supplies at the supermarket. 

Note: the protein powder I use, while great, doesn’t come with a scoop. So where it recommends 1 scoop (25g), I’ve been using a heaped tablespoon. Also, if I say 1 cup or 1/2 a cup, I’m using the American measurement. Sorry! (Get those measuring spoons!) I’ve also worked out the nutritional information to the best of my ability, so apologies for any errors. 

First up, it’s Blueberry Sunrise

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 scoop/heaped tablespoon of protein powder
  • 1 cup almond milk unsweetened
  • 15g/1 tablespoon low fat Greek yoghurt 

Nutritional Information

Calories: 202 Fat: 4.1g Protein: 11.5g Sugar: 19g Carbs: 28g 

Makes: 1 serving (approx 400ml)

Method

Combine all ingredient, blend until smooth. Ice cubes optional. 

Verdict

This is one of my favourites. Although it’s a tad high in sugar & carbs, it’s absolutely delicious, and blueberries are wonderful antioxidants. I’m going to try this out for a breakfast one day. 

Then I tried the Berry Blast Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups frozen berries (I used Tesco Berry Smoothie frozen mix, but any would work fine)
  • 1-2 cups water
  • 1 scoop/heaped tablespoon of protein powder
  • 1-2 ice cubes (optional)

Nutritional Information

Calories: 141 Fat: 2g Protein: 18g Sugar: 10g Carbs: 12g 

Makes: 1 serving (approx 400ml)

Method

Combine all ingredients & blend until smooth. I should say, since the fruit is frozen, it might get stuck together, especially if you use the same blender as I do, so just add more water and shake until they can be blended properly.

Verdict

I really liked this smoothie, but it actually tastes better when left to sit for a couple of hours. The seeds and pips all move down to the bottom, making it less sour (and crunchy!). I’m going to make it the night before and take it to work one day for my lunch. I foolishly bought a pack of fruit with banana in, and added a couple of pieces to this smoothie, which overpowered it a little bit, so I’ll avoid that in future. But if you like banana, add away! (I also forgot to take a picture of this one.)

Next up, the Iced Chocolate Espresso Protein Shake

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup brewed coffee, chilled
  • 1 cup almond milk, unsweetened
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder (I used Options Belgian hot chocolate)
  • 1 scoop/heaped tablespoon of protein powder
  • 3 ice cubes 

Nutritional Information

Calories: 125 Fat: 4g Protein: 18g Sugar: 2g Carbs: 4g

Makes: 1 serving (approx 300ml)

Method

Once the coffee has cooled, combine all ingredients and blend well! You can add more ice cubes if you want. Oh, and if you prefer, you can cut the cocoa powder out and just use chocolate protein powder! 

Verdict

I feel like this would be perfect for summer. I usually take a cup of tea for my morning commute, but this may replace the tea during the warmer months! It’s also just sweet enough to satisfy my sweet tooth. I was worried I’d have to add sugar to it, but the cocoa powder and vanilla protein powder make it taste like a cake in a bottle, so it’s also great as a snack. And it’s low in calories, sugar, carbs, and fat, but high in protein! 

Protein Smoothies: Worth it?

The short answer is: yes! Protein is a super important part of your diet, and this is a great, easy way to up your intake. Some recipes have heaps of sugar in them, so you have to be mindful of that, but others are nicely balanced. Ingredients can also be swapped out to suit your tastes – I detest bananas, so I’ll just replace them with another fruit. And the best part is that you can just add a scoop of protein powder to your favourite smoothie, without having to come up with a brand new recipe! They’re super easy to make, and there are so many choices, ensuring you’ll never get bored. 

I’ve got tons more recipes to try, which I’ll post on this blog once I’ve given them a go. Do you have any favourite protein smoothies? Post your recipes below, or let me know if you tried one of mine! 

One thought on “Not A Diet: Protein Smoothies Part 1

Leave a Reply

