The Bandwagon Does Beauty: COLOURPOP Lippie Stix

I haven’t updated this feature in a while, but I am so in love with this lipstick that I just had to rave about it. I started this feature after deciding to do my own make-up for my wedding, and have been documenting my journey to falling back in love with make-up.

I read about COLOURPOP on BuzzFeed, on some post about life-changing products for people who can’t be bothered to keep reapplying their make-up. I’m always skeptical when it comes to claims like “life-changing”, but I thought I’d give it a go.

I love make-up, but I’m not a big lipstick fan, mostly because it comes off way too easily, and I cannot be bothered to keep reapplying stuff. I want to do my make-up once, and for it to last all day. It’s not like I’m climbing mountains or running marathons or swimming in the sea, so I don’t think that’s too much to ask.

31pnx4kh6rl-_sx425_

This colour is great. I chose brink (see picture) in matte, and it is subtle, close to the natural colour of my lips (different colour lips will vary!). It’s slightly pink on me, which I really like. It goes on smoothly, and it’s thinner than most lipsticks, meaning it’s designed to make it easier to apply.

I decided to do a couple of little tests on the staying power. The first was on a Saturday, where we had to run some errands in town, and grabbed a coffee from Starbucks to take home. When we got back, I found this lipstick waiting for me. I put it on, & I can say that after a coffee, cigarettes, lunch (& wiping my mouth with a napkin), and a nap, the colour was still visible on my lips. And it hadn’t smudged all over my face. Result!

The next test was, of course, to see how it held up on a work day. I work full-time in an office, so I’m constantly drinking tea and nibbling food. I applied it in the morning, and, to my absolute surprise, I still had a subtle colour at the end of the day. If you want bold lips, you’ll have to reapply, but for just a light colour, it’s perfect. The staying power of this lipstick is fabulous.

10am, after two hours wear


There aren’t many bad sides to this product. You do get some transfer after you apply it, on the rim of your cup for example, and that’s after dabbing my lips with tissue to get rid of the excess. But it only lasts while the product is still fresh on your lips. I guess it almost acts more like a lip stain than a lipstick? But I’m not expert in this matter.

It is quite pricey. It was around £15 on Amazon, but it did come super quickly, and with only one application per day, it should last me quite a while. Pro tip: I always set my make-up with the L’Oreal Infallible fixing spray, and one morning I had the bright idea to spray a tiny bit on my finger and dab it on my lips after I put my lipstick on. I’m sure this helps it last all day, but the product really does stand up on its own. If you’re new to lipstick, this range is an excellent way to dive in.

Sadly, this one is currently unavailable on Amazon UK, but I hope it comes back soon. I’m not sure where else you can buy it from over here (tips welcome!).

Please note that while I do receive products to review, especially books, I actually paid for this item, so my review is in no way biased.
Leave a Reply

