Strike 4 Repeal: March 8th 2017

Join your Irish sisters on March 8th 2017 to fight for women’s reproductive rights.

Abortion is illegal in Ireland, thanks to a clause in the Irish Constitution known as the Eighth Amendment. It deems that life begins at fertilisation, and a foetus is granted the same rights as a woman.

Fuck. That. Noise.

16178957_1520822881268766_1650073786196115163_o
Credit: Strike 4 Repeal

The Bandwagon is fiercely pro-choice. I am fiercely pro-choice. I strongly believe that the term pro-life should be replaced with “anti-woman”, since many of those who say they are pro-life are actually just against women having full control over their own bodies. They don’t care for the children after they’re born. I’ve had many arguments with people about this subject, and many of them state that a child is better off in our already overwhelmed care systems. True, they might be alive, but not all life is worth living. And I won’t be told that I must continue with a pregnancy I don’t want, putting my body & my mind at risk by carrying a baby to term, just to give it away as soon as I give birth.

I’ve been called selfish. If it’s selfish to choose myself, and not bring yet another unwanted person into an already overcrowded world, then yes, I’m selfish. I’ve been called a killer. A foetus is a mass of cells, it is not a person. It’s a potential person, but it should not have more rights than me, a fully-functioning, contributing adult. Oh, and I’ve been called a Nazi, which isn’t really worth responding to. I’ve been called various disgusting names simply because I believe that women should have the right to choose what happens to their bodies. Shame on me, I guess.

I haven’t had an abortion, but you can bet I would if I had to. I use birth control, but if that failed, I’m glad to have abortion as an option. I believe that every woman should have full access to abortion should they ever need one, and it’s not my place to put any restrictions on that, despite any personal feelings I might have. I only wish everyone else felt the same way. Some “pro-life” groups like to tell women that they’re allowed an abortion if they’re raped, or if the child is a product of incest (but this isn’t the case in Ireland. Abortion is never allowed, in any circumstance). Why these people think they’re in a position to allow anything is beyond me. It’s none of your fucking business. Against abortion? Don’t fucking have one. But don’t restrict other women.

On March 8th, women in Ireland are striking. Women are standing up and saying that this is not okay. The Irish government has been promising a referendum on this clause, but one has not yet materialised. This strike is telling the Irish government that they must repeal the Eighth Amendment. Women currently face up to 14 years in prison for daring to end a pregnancy they do not want. One of the best pro-choice quotes is this, from Frederica Mathewes-Green: “No one wants an abortion as she wants an ice-cream cone or a Porsche. She wants an abortion as an animal, caught in a trap, wants to gnaw off its own leg.” This perfectly describes the desperation felt by these women. It’s estimated that 12 women travel to Great Britain to have an abortion every single day. I support these women, I welcome them, but they shouldn’t have to travel to another country. They shouldn’t have to spend money they may not have, and risk imprisonment if discovered, for choosing to terminate a pregnancy. A foetus has no right to a woman’s body, unless that woman wants it there.

Of course, restricting access to abortion doesn’t stop abortion from happening; it simply stops safe abortions. And so this stance is literally anti-woman, because anyone who wants to restrict access to & information about safe abortion is happy for women to put themselves in danger, to harm themselves, bankrupt themselves, to die, than to allow them the freedom of choice. It’s disgusting.

Organisers Strike 4 Repeal state:

“Our demand is that the Irish government call a referendum to repeal the 8th Amendment by the 8th of March. If not, Ireland will strike.

“The strike will not be an industrial strike in the traditional sense but could include taking an annual leave day off work, refraining from domestic work for the day, wearing black in solidarity or staging a walkout during your lunch break. We also encourage any business owners in a position to close their services at no cost to workers, to do so for all or part of the day as a solidarity action.”

You can support your Irish sisters by sharing posts on social media, & wearing all black on March 8th. You can also strike too, if you wish, if you’re able to. Trump is already introducing legislation to stop safe abortions in the US. The world is going backwards, and we will not go back. I’ll be dressing in black in solidarity with my Irish sisters. Because, in the words of Margaret Sanger, no woman can call herself free who does not control her own body.

One thought on “Strike 4 Repeal: March 8th 2017

Leave a Reply

