Weltanschauung by Vikki Patis

Yep, you read that right. Weltanschauung, my short story collection, is now available on Amazon.

The harbinger, the oddball, the remaining twin… Weltanschauung seeks to open your eyes to different stories, set in different worlds and at different times, but with the same theme in mind: to make you question your worldview.

This collection of short stories traverses genres, introduces a variety of characters, and shines a light on some of our deepest fears.

Challenge your perceptions.

Forgive the self-promotion, but if I can’t do some shameless self-promotion on my own blog, where can I do it? Read on to find out more about my collection of short stories.

Inside Weltanschauung, you’ll find five short stories. Different genres, different styles, different lengths, but all written with the idea of making the reader challenge their worldview. Weltanschauung is a German word, meaning “a particular philosophy or view of life; the world view of an individual or group”. I wanted to write something that not only took me out of my comfort zone, but also to make the reader consider things from a different angle.

Zombie

Nothing is as it seems. Lieutenant Walker has been trapped in a place haunted by shadows, after losing his men in the war. Can he fight the demons?

Only If

Ivy struggles to live without her twin sister, Freja, who committed suicide after a horrific attack. The remaining twin is left to deal with the fallout, but how can she carry on when she’s less than whole?

Grave Oversight

Simon never likes to deal with things. He enjoys his simple, structured life, and ignores anything unpleasant or unexpected. But there’s a dark twist to Simon’s life, one he can’t run away from.

Harbinger

Zoe has always been able to see death. Her terrified father convinces her to keep it a secret, to stay away from the Harbingers. But like calls to like.

     ‘You blend in well,’ he said, taking her by surprise.
‘What?’ she asked stupidly.
‘You. You’re like me, but you’re also not like me. How do you do it?’ The man held his cup in both hands to warm them. He’d tucked the book back into his jacket.
‘I don’t do anything,’ Zoe said, choosing her words carefully. Admit nothing, her father said in her head. Be careful. ‘I don’t know what you mean.’
The man laughed. ‘Okay, fine. But tell me, when am I going to die?’

Bane

When a virus sweeps across the nation, Rachel is recruited by The Bank to be a Reviewer, visiting survivors and providing them with what they need. Rachel’s always wanted to help people, but does power come with a price? Bane offers a unique twist on the apocalyptic story.

bookcoverimage

During my writing journey, I’ve spoken to many authors about their own writing processes. Stephen King advises you to write your draft, lock it away for a few weeks, then revisit it with fresh eyes. Write every day, authors told me. Keep trying. Don’t give up. A few years ago, George RR Martin himself told me to write short stories. But I don’t like short stories, I protested. Exactly, he said. Challenge yourself. So I did, because no one ignores George RR Martin. The result of all this advice is Weltanschauung, and I hope you’ll enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

The cover was designed by the incredibly talented Sammi McEwan. Visit her website for more of her work, and check out her #InspiringWomen interview from February here.

Grab your own copy of Weltanschauung on Amazon and the CreateSpace store. Available in eBook & paperback.

Leave a Reply

