The Bandwagon Does Beauty: Eyes

When I was a teenager, I was always experimenting with make-up. Different mascaras, eyeshadow colours, nail polishes… And not forgetting some unfortunate fake tan incidents! But for the past few years, I’ve stuck to my trusted routine. Then I decided to do my own make-up for my wedding.

I’ve already shown you all how I did my flawless foundation for the big day, so now I’m moving on to my eyes.

Eyeliner 

I always apply black kohl eyeliner to my upper waterline, but there’s also a technique called tightlining. To tightline, you apply eyeliner to the waterline, and then gently push the eyeliner into the spaces between the roots of your lashes. Another trick to make your eyes look bigger is to use white eyeliner on your lower waterline, which I did.

I suck at liquid eyeliner. I always have, and I fear that I always will. There’s a brown eye definer that I regularly use, so I decided to get one in black for a more dramatic look. It’s like a pen, or a crayon, or, I don’t even know. But it gives a nice smudgy yet precise line. I used that on my upper lash line, keeping close to the lashes. (Edit: Since the wedding, I’ve discovered gel eyeliner. Why oh why didn’t I buy one before?!)

I cannot do winged eyeliner. I managed once, after hours of practicing (and with very sore eyes!), and only then while using a card, and it still wasn’t perfect. I need to keep practicing, but since time was of the essence, I decided to strike it off the wedding list.

Eyeshadow

8964196171806

I have one eyeshadow palette, which I bought from Superdrug for a few quid. I’ve never been big on eyeshadow, preferring a simpler look, but I decided to either go big or go home.

I started with a shimmery cream on my lids (2nd row, 3rd along), then added a purpley-copper kind of colour (top row, 5th along) on the crease, which I built up until I liked the how it looked, and blended well. I then used a creamy-white colour (1st row, 1st along) to act as a highlighter underneath my brows and on the inner corners of my eyes. I used the same purpley-copper colour to line my lower lash line.

Lashes

loreal-false-lash-flutter-midnight-extra-black-2_1024x1024

I swear by L’Oreal’s False Lash Flutter mascara. It’s amazing. I’ve tried a lot of mascaras in the past, and nothing comes close to this one. I use it every day, and it’s build-able, so you can go from a more natural look to wow look at these lashes!

I also bought some false lashes. Now, choosing to a) wear false lashes, b) having never put them on yourself before, c) on a very important photo day is probably a bit risky. I tried them on several days beforehand, carefully cutting them to size, and put them to the test. They lasted through a shove-my-face-into-the-pillow nap, which I think is pretty damn good. But I chickened out at the last minute and didn’t wear them on the day.

Brows

I have never done anything with my brows, except get them waxed every 6 weeks or so. I’m still too much of a wimp to really go for it, but maybe one day I’ll give it a go.

And here’s the finished look! What do you think?

14724213_10210728460624837_839702379_o

 So that’s how I did my eye make-up for my wedding last month. If you’re a n00b like me and want to learn some tricks of the trade, keep an eye out for the rest of the posts in this series.

Leave a Reply

