Autumn Reads

Hello, September 1st, and the start of my favourite season: Autumn.

Crunchy leaves the colours of flames; cosy jumpers, fluffy socks and warm boots; hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows; and plenty on the TV to watch on those dark evenings.

September has always been my favourite month. It’s when school starts, I’m getting married this September, and it’s the best month to visit the South West – the emmets have left Cornwall, the kids are back at school, the students are focused on the year ahead (at least, until Freshers starts). As soon as I feel that autumn chill in the air, I start digging out my scarves and giving myself the excuse to buy more boots.

autumn-leaves-and-book

But what do I read in the autumn? Well, like many other readers, I’m something of a seasonal reader. I love a dark thriller set in Iceland for the winter months, and quick, light bites for lazy summer afternoons. Horror is my go-to genre for autumn, of course; anything that evokes that autumn feeling, of crisp leaves and brisk air, scarves and coffee and, of course, pumpkins!

Last year, I binge-read Stephen King. The year before, I read his son, Joe Hill, and saw Horns in the cinema. I’m a bit of a wimp, so I don’t like anything too scary, and I’m not a huge fan of the classic gothic horror. I watched all seasons of Buffy The Vampre Slayer, was elated to see The Craft on Amazon Prime, and reread Daphne du Maurier. I even bought some of the old Point Horror books I used to love, like The Vampire’s Promise. 12105837_428805807307594_2362079982612169468_n

Surprisingly, I don’t have anything lined up for this year. I might look at watching some movies based on some of the Stephen King books I enjoyed last year – maybe Cujo, and Pet Sematary. There’s also a Buffy book sitting on my shelf that I remember from my childhood, that saw Buffy fighting a giant pumpkin king or something equally ridiculous.

It doesn’t always have to be horror, though. A good thriller can be just as chilling, and there have been a lot of those coming out recently. Dystopian fiction, describing an apocalypse or nuclear wasteland or demon overlords, is also good for sweater weather. Anything that gets your spine tingling, or laughing at the cheesiness of the horror. My partner recently enjoyed the Wool Trilogy by Hugh Howey. Foxlowe by Eleanor Wasserberg, anything by Charlaine Harris, or set in Salem in the 1600s. There may be some excellent books coming out this autumn, but this season is, for me, all about cuddling up with an old favourite.

Autumn may be the best season, but it’s also the shortest. Winter is only around the corner, along with a host of other excellent wintry reads. But for now, I’m going to snuggle under a blanket with a steaming cup of tea, a cat curled by my side and a book on my lap.

What do you like to read in the autumn? I’m open to recommendations, so comment below!

One thought on “Autumn Reads

  1. I visited a huge used book store in Maryland last weekend and picked up a copy of “Dracula”. I thought this would be a good jump start on fall reading. I also ordered all of Paula Brackston’s witch books. I can’t wait to start those.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

