As Wings Unfurl by Arthur M. Doweyko

James McStravick reviews As Wings Unfurl by Arthur M. Doweyko.

Applegate Bogdanski returns from Vietnam with a missing leg, a Purple Heart, and an addiction to morphine. He stumbles through each day, looking forward to nothing and hoping it will arrive soon. When he attempts to thwart a crime, he is knocked unconscious and wakes up to discover that people are once again calling him a hero, though he feels undeserving of the praise.

Apple returns to work and meets Angela, a mysterious woman who claims to be his guardian. Immediately, he feels a connection to her, which morphs into an attraction. But he soon discovers that Angela is much more than she seems.

Apple and Angela are swept up in a conspiracy that stretches through time and space. Together, they must fight to save everything they hold dear from an alien race bent on destroying humanity.

30236739

I was instantly intrigued by the story and setting of As Wings Unfurl, as I find there are very few science fiction books that use a war veteran as their main protagonist. I think this kind of character can bring a lot to the world of science fiction due to their nature and background.

I think the characterisation is the strongest aspect of the book, because from very early, on you are drawn towards the two main characters, Apple and Angela. I think Apple’s attitude as a veteran and his experience from his past bounces off Angela’s personality very well as it helps to show their own unique traits. Angela was my favourite character despite being a little unsure of her, something about her just made her likeable, and I think this was drawn from her feelings and attitude towards Apple.

Even though the synopsis seemed very intriguing, in actuality the story was slightly bland, because the story development never seemed to really flow as I would have liked or expected it to. The most interesting aspect of the story was finding out more about Angela and what she really was, but other than that, there were a few intense moments that did seem to make the story as a bit better, but never truly gripped me as I would have expected it to. I think this suggests Arthur M. Doweyko’s books will only get better, so I am looking forward to seeing his career progress and where it takes him.

As a whole, I enjoyed the book and I think with it only being 280 pages it is the type of book that you can pick up and read very easily, as I never once felt that certain aspects were unnecessarily dragged out. If you are in the mood for a quick and fun sci-fi read then I would certainly read this book.

Website | Goodreads

Further Reading:

  • Algorithm
  • Cold Heart

Connect with James on Twitter: @jamesmcstravick

Leave a Reply

