Lemon Drizzle Cake

There’s been a lot of buzz on my social media about the food my partner and I make. Since launching into my Not A Diet, I’ve decided it might be a good idea to share some of our recipes, starting with a delicious lemon drizzle cake.

A few weeks ago, a friend (and the artist I’m working with right now) came over for an afternoon of food and chatting. She doesn’t eat gluten or dairy (or meat, now!), but I wanted her to feel comfortable, so I decided to make a cake we could both enjoy.

Gluten & Dairy Free Lemon Drizzle Cake

Ingredients

For the cake:
250g gluten free flour
1 tsp gluten free baking powder
225g caster sugar
225g soya spread (I used the Pure dairy-free range)
3 tbsp soya milk
4 free range eggs
Zest of 3 lemons

For the icing:
200g icing sugar
Juice of 1 lemon
Zest of 1 lemon (to decorate)

Method

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees. Line a rectangular tray (or circular, if that’s all you have, like me!) with lining paper.

Add the flour, baking powder and caster sugar into a large mixing bowl. Make a well in the middle, then add the eggs, soya spread, soya milk and lemon zest. Beat with a whisk until combined.

Pour the mixture into the baking tray(s). Place in the oven for 35 mins, or until golden. Tip: insert a bamboo stick into the middle of the cake to check if cooked. Take out of the oven when ready and leave to cool.

To make the drizzle, whisk the icing sugar and lemon juice together in a bowl, until smooth. Once the cake is cool, spread over the top, and decorate with lemon zest. Slice and serve.

image
My gluten and dairy free lemon drizzle cake!

I used this video as a guide when I made mine. You might find it useful too.

What recipes do you have to share? Let me know below!

One thought on “Lemon Drizzle Cake

Leave a Reply

