The Dean Machine by Dylan Peters

Read below to find out more about The Dean Machine, the fantastic new novel by Dylan Peters, and how you can bag yourself a free review copy.

Cover_TDM.jpgMeet Dan Delacor, an utterly boring citizen of Yellow City. Every day he puts on his yellow shoes, yellow shirt, yellow pants, and yellow tie, and catches a ride on the Tunnel Runner from the suburbs into downtown. He has a job, a home, and a girlfriend, and he never wonders what waits beyond the giant glass wall that surrounds Yellow City.

Except… Dan isn’t as boring as he seems. He often wonders why everything in Yellow City has to be yellow. He wonders why he suffers frequent anxiety attacks, and why he can’t help himself from strolling through dangerous neighborhoods, or running wildly through the fields that separate downtown from the suburbs. Mostly though, Dan wonders why he can’t remember how he lost his right arm, or anything that happened before five years ago.

So, when Dan’s mundane yellow world is interrupted with the seemingly impossible presence of a little red dog named Dean, he quickly finds out there are answers to his questions, and that everything he knows is a lie.

Follow Dan as he learns the secrets of his true identity, the scope of the world beyond the wall, and the true intentions of Yellow City’s mysterious leader, Chancellor Elgrey Vinsidian. Meet Wendy, the twelve-year-old girl on a rescue mission, Echo Valkzdokker, the woman with a love for danger, James Perkins, the wily pilot who has a way with words, and Bianna Kensington, the cold-mannered rebel with a cause. Look through the cracks of this new world with Dan as he learns why his little friend is nicknamed The Dean Machine, what special bond they share, and why the dog deserves a legacy that should live on forever.

He lives to love.

He would die to protect.

His heart is a machine.

Dylan Peters explains what inspired him to write The Dean Machine, and the true story behind the characters.

I will never forget Dean. I hate that I wasn’t able to save him. I hate what this world did to him. A world full of human arrogance and ignorance made him suffer and then took him away too soon, and I can never forgive it for that. However, I won’t let that be Dean’s legacy. I won’t let that be the way it ends.

The Dean Machine, in many ways, is just a fantastic adventure story, but in many other ways, it’s also Dean’s legacy. Many of the scenes I’ve written in the book are exact things Dean did during his life: rubbing his belly on the ground, hoarding things under beds, sleeping on my chest, and playing a game I dubbed “hand-fighting,” which was Dean acting as if my hand was another dog to play with. Dean’s true physical description is included, as well as his real character and personality. The book also details the things I’ve taken away from my time with Dean and things I’ve learned about myself, the world, and the other creatures of this world that we too often take for granted.

My wife and I have adopted two other rescue dogs since losing Dean. We will always do for rescue dogs as much as we can. We will give them our love and our home, and try to help the world learn to value all life. Dean lives on in these pages, and Dean lives on in my ability to give back through him. That is why a portion of the money that comes from these pages will always be donated to rescue dogs that suffer, just like Dean did. Every time someone purchases The Dean Machine, they will be helping animals that still fight. I’ll give as much as I can as often as I can.

This is how I will continue Dean’s legacy. He will always be The Dean Machine.

When that dog looked into my eyes with his love, he made me more than what I am. For those simple few moments, he made me a hero, because I saved something that was truly pure and because I gave him my best and not an ounce less. When Dean looked at me, he said, “Thank you.” Every single time he looked at me, he was saying, “Thank you.” He was telling me that I was his hero and that I made fighting to hold on to hope worth it. I knew when Dean looked at me, that if I ever lived up to that dog and the way he saw the world, the way that he saw me, then I could do anything.

He gave that to me with one look. I’ve never given anyone a gift so true…

But it’s time…It’s time to give back.

If you would like to receive a free review copy, comment below, visit the Contact page on this blog, or use Dylan Peters’ social media links below.

Dylan Peters 
Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

One thought on “The Dean Machine by Dylan Peters

Leave a Reply

