#ReadWomen

Hello, December! 2015 has flown by, and it’s already the end of the year. Time flies when you’re having fun, and it zooms by if you’re reading great books!

If you missed it, I previously wrote about my #WinterReads, which included some beautiful wintry books. But today I want to focus on the female authors who have made an impression on me. There are too many women writers who have produced gorgeous work, but here are my top picks of the year.

Skin by Ilka Tampke

This is definitely my book of the year. A gorgeous, intricate debut novel, Skin is almost too good for words. Read it.

Read my review of Skin here, and Tampke’s author interview here.

The Lodger by Louisa Treger

Louisa Treger is one talented lady. She not only manages to inhabit the mind of a very underestimated woman in The Lodger, but she also manages to weave in themes of feminism, sexuality, and femininity.

Read Ask the Author: Louisa Treger here.

Wolf Winter by Cecilia Ekback

Anyone would think I’ve got a thing about Ekback, and maybe I have. But her writing is beautiful and absorbing, and I love everything about Wolf Winter. It’s been a year now; can I demand a sequel yet?

Read my review of Wolf Winter here.

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith

No, this isn’t cheating. We all know that Galbraith is really J.K. Rowling, who, surely, always appears on lists like these. But I can’t help myself. I love the Comoran Strike novels. And Rowling not only knows how to write, but she’s also a strong female role model, which our society always needs more of.

Gold, Fame, Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins

This isn’t due out until next year, but I’m including it on my list because it did make an impression on me when I read it last month. It might not be the most feminist novel (or maybe it is, and I’ve missed the point), but Gold, Fame, Citrus is a fabulous read, and a must for fans of Margaret Atwood.

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

I’ve read and reread and fallen in love with this story again and again. Kent is unbelievably talented, and a role model for many young female writers out there. Not only is she the author of such a wonderful, bestselling book, she’s also the co-founder and director of literary journal Kill Your Darlings. And she’s only 30.

The Widow’s War by Mary Mackey

Featuring a strong, fearless woman, fighting both slavery and the patriarchy, this is historical fiction at its best.

The Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait

Who doesn’t know the story of Alice in Wonderland? But how many of us know how it came about? This debut is fantastic, dark yet fascinating, just as the original story of Alice was.

Read Ask the Author: Vanessa Tait here.

The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent

Looking at my Goodreads reading challenge, it’s clear that when I fall in love with a subject, I really fall in love with it, and devour everything on offer. The Heretic’s Daughter is another example of fine historical fiction, and Kent weaves her story with skill and ease.

Read Ask the Author: Kathleen Kent here.

There are, of course, many more books I could choose as part of the #readwomen campaign, but the ones mentioned above are those that stood out for me this year. I’m just about to start The Quality of Silence by Rosamund Lipton, which I’m really looking forward to, and fits quite well into the wintry theme.

What are your favourite books of the year written by women? Let me know in the comments below, on Facebook, or on Twitter, @VikkiPatis, using #readwomen.

One thought on “#ReadWomen

Leave a Reply

