Ask the Author: B.S. Thapliyal

After spending the past few weeks chasing authors and attempting to get an interview, I never would have expected anyone to contact me. But that’s exactly what happened. B.S. Thapliyal got in touch through ReadWave, asking me to write up an interview with him. What a compliment to receive, and I couldn’t be more pleased.

Thapliyal’s most recent novel, The Distant Dreams: Elusive Hopes a Collection of Short Stories, was released last August, and is a collection of 28 short stories spanning over three decades of the author’s long government career. Thapliyal has no shortage of ideas, due to his having travelled all over. “I love meeting people and learning from them. I have great regard for their human values and cultural heritage. For me materialistic considerations play a secondary role while interacting with people.”

book cover

Thapliyal, after serving in the army for seven years, was selected for the Indian Civil Services by the Government of India, where he served for over three decades. He also worked as an IMF senior financial management advisor in Turkmenistan, Moldavia, Georgia, Malawi, and Lesotho. He currently lives in NOIDA, a satellite town of Delhi.

The Distant Dreams: Elusive Hopes a Collection of Short Stories, Thapliyal’s third novel, shows the extent of his knowledge of the world. The beauty and diversity are proof of how talented Thapliyal truly is. From India to Africa to the former Soviet Republic of Georgia, take the journey through these pages, and come out of it feeling richer.

Thapliyal says that his father, “a school teacher who was a learned and scholarly person, inspired me to be a teacher and a writer”.Unfortunately, “in Indian conditions, survival for existence is the first charge. I joined Indian Army and then Civil Services, the openings that came my way”, but writing has always been close to his heart.

“Publicity is the hallmark of success in the book world, and you need lot of money for that”, he said, when I asked what he wished he knew prior to being published. “The publicity and marketing input of the publishers is the most important, but the least forthcoming. The new author who is generally out of pocket is expected to shell out lot of money for this purpose”.

Thapliyal is actually looking for a publisher to accept his next work.“I have worked in Malawi as Senior Fiscal Management Adviser of the International Monetary Fund for three years. I have also worked in the similar capacity in Georgia, a former Soviet republic for three years. I have studied the Socio-Economic-Political conditions of Malawian society from close quarters. I have lot of material in my bosom and also a lot in the bosom of my laptop..I would love to see this work see the light of the day.”

Due to being a retired government servant, living on a pension, the chances of Thapliyal visiting the UK are slim: “Unless it is sponsored by a publisher, I can’t think of such luxury. I have been in UK earlier on three occasions and I am really fascinated by its countryside. It would be a dream come true”.

It was an absolute pleasure speaking with Thapliyal, and I would recommend his latest novel, The Distant Dreams: Elusive Hopes a Collection of Short Stories, to anyone who loves hard-hitting, heart-warming contemporary fiction. Many of us know how hard being a writer can be, and so I strongly support everyone who is making the attempt to live their dream.

The Distant Dreams: Elusive Hopes a Collection of Short Stories is available on Amazon.

Originally posted on ReadWave.

Are you an author, or do you know one? If you’re interested in doing a similar interview with me, get in touch! I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

